Dangerous Girls Book Review

Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas

Publication: July 16th, 2013 by Simon Press

388 Pages

Genre: Young adult/Mystery/Suspense Thriller

Summary:

It’s Spring Break of senior year. Anna, her boyfriend Tate, her best friend Elise, and a few other close friends are off to a debaucherous trip to Aruba that promises to be the time of their lives. But when Elise is found brutally murdered, Anna finds herself trapped in a country not her own, fighting against vile and contemptuous accusations.

As Anna sets out to find her friend’s killer; she discovers hard truths about her friendships, the slippery nature of truth, and the ache of young love.

As she awaits the judge’s decree, it becomes clear that everyone around her thinks she is not just guilty, but dangerous. When the truth comes out, it is more shocking than one could ever imagine…

Goodreads Link

Review:

I initially read this book a few months ago and was left mind-blown, so I didn’t even bother writing a review because I felt psychologically abused to be honest. But, this past weekend I stupidly decided to read Dangerous Girls again and I am so done with being emotionally messed with that I am passing the responsibility on to all of you. *nice, right?!*

First things first, dangerous girls has a really simple cover but I think it does it justice. I always thought that the shattered glass in the background was quite strategic because it can represent so many of the events that happen in the book.

I feel like Haas does a really good job of unraveling characters, I almost feel like she treats her characters like china dolls in the sense that as the story progresses she reveals a new layer of their personality. I love the fact that she does this because it makes the protagonists so much more interesting as you are constantly learning new things about them, which isn’t always a good thing as it can leave you screaming and sobbing in a curled up ball on the floor because the character you were rooting for turns out to be a douche.

When characters betray me

The characters in the story were hard to relate to, I think this had something to do with the nature of the story. I mean, murder is quite a heavy topic even more so when it’s your best friend that’s been topped off, so emotionally they were quite detached, although I do think that this added to the suspense and mystery surrounding Elise’s death as it was hard to imagine that any one of them could be responsible for her death.

Unlike my previous review on We Were Liars where I was developing the feels for a fictional character *as you do*, I didn’t really have that here. Tate, the male protagonist came across like a privileged douche at times and I felt like he lacked backbone which may sound a bit harsh, but that is entirely how I felt. I was a bit saddened by this because there is nothing better than having a crush while you’re getting immersed in a book…It makes everything worthwhile.

My First Crush=Uncle Jesse

Overall, I would recommend Dangerous Girls to anyone who is looking to have their mind blown. This is an amazing book, and a definite keeper on your bookshelf.

Rating: 5*

2 thoughts on “Dangerous Girls Book Review

Leave a Reply

