My Top Ten Favourite YA Book Quotes

I don’t know about you but I love quotes… Even more so book quotes. They make it so much easier to connect to the character and really understand their voice, and at times you just might just find that one quote that speaks to you on such a personal level that the story becomes more than a book… It becomes a friend. I know I have had this happen to me so many times, that I now have a notebook dedicated to book quotes so that I can go back to my favourites when ever I am feeling a certain type of way.  I won’t lie to you my quotes can be long, they can also be depressing but I love them because they speak to me in more ways than you could possibly imagine.

Enough with the talking, let’s get on with it… Shall we?

  1. “It is better to be alone, she figures, than to be with someone who can’t see who you are. It is better to lead than to follow. It is better to speak up than stay silent. It is better to open doors than to shut them on people.
    She will not be simple and sweet. She will not be what people tell her to be. That Bunny Rabbit is dead.”
    E. Lockhart, The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks
  2. “We all bear scars,… Mine just happen to be more visible than most.”
    Sarah J. Maas, Throne of Glass
  3. “The boy never cried again, and he never forgot what he’d learned: that to love is to destroy, and that to be loved is to be the one destroyed.”
    Cassandra Clare, City of Bones
  4. “What a slut time is. She screws everybody.”
    John Green, The Fault in Our Stars
  5. “There will come a time when all of us are dead. All of us. There will come a time when there are no human beings remaining to remember that anyone ever existed or that our species ever did anything. There will be no one left to remember Aristotle or Cleopatra, let alone you. Everything that we did and built and wrote and thought and discovered will be forgotten and all of this will have been for naught. Maybe that time is coming soon and maybe it is millions of years away, but even if we survive the collapse of our sun, we will not survive forever. There was time before organisms experienced consciousness, and there will be time after. And if the inevitability of human oblivion worries you, I encourage you to ignore it. God knows that’s what everyone else does.”
    John Green, The Fault in Our Stars
  6. “Do not accept an evil you can change.”
    E. Lockhart, We Were Liars
  7. “Because the world isn’t divided into the special and the ordinary. Everyone has the potential to be extraordinary. As long as you have a soul and free will, you can be anything, do anything, choose anything”
    Cassandra Clare,City Of Heavenly Fire
  8. “Love, it never dies. It never goes away, it never fades, so long as you hang on to it. Love can make you immortal”
    Gayle Forman, If I Stay
  9. “I realize now that dying is easy. Living is hard.”
    Gayle Forman, If I Stay
  10. “Any one of us could be made to look a monster, with selective readings of our history.”
    Abigail Haas, Dangerous Girls
Leave a Reply

