Bleed Book Review

Bleed by Dax Varley

217 Pages

Published: September 1st, 2015

Summary:

LIFE IS A NIGHTMARE for Miranda. Without knowing when or why, blood oozes from her palms – an anomaly that makes her feel like a freak. But her abnormality is now the least of her worries. She’s just enrolled at “Suicide High.” Three deaths in three months – one occurring just days before her arrival.

When she bumps into a cute boy named Jake, things don’t appear so glum. Especially since Jake’s a psychic who can predict the immediate future. But his gift of sight can’t prepare her for the horrors that await.

Through Jake, Miranda meets three other extraordinary students:

Topher – who can heal by touch.

Sam – who eats the sins of the dead.

And Xyan – who speaks and understands all languages.

It’s then that Miranda learns the secret behind why she bleeds.

When it becomes evident that supernatural forces are at play, the five determined friends team up. Now it’s up to them to destroy the evil infecting their school.

Review:

First of all I just want to say thank you very much to Netgalley, Dax Varley and Garden Gate Press for giving me the opportunity to review this book. I also want to apologize to my followers for my tardiness, I know I haven’t been posting much this past week but I have been so busy looking after my little brother that I have had barely any time to open my laptop.

I initially wanted to read Bleed after scrolling through the YA pages of Netgalley and coming across it’s cover. The cover for bleed is beautifully haunting and extremely captivating, I am pretty sure I spent about ten minutes just drooling over the cover. Now i’m sure most of you are familiar with Netgalley but if you are new to the blogging world like I am, then you may have no idea what I am on about. Netgalley is a website that provides free books to reviewers, booksellers etc via the publishers in e book form, you have to request for the books that catch your eye and just pray the publishers let you read them. Luckily for me I was accepted to read Bleed by Garden Gate Press a few days after my drooling incident.

Me looking at the Bleed cover

I loved the concept of Bleed, however I felt that the storyline was lacking in some areas which I found disappointing as I had such high expectations for the story. I did feel like the beginning of the story was badly written at times, it often reminded  me of a cliched fanfic on wattpad. Some of the characters were just very under-developed and hard to relate to, although the characterization of the characters improves significantly as the story develops which could be because the main protagonists begin to see the true value of their powers and bond.

There are a few twists in the story, however in my opinion they fall flat due to the fact that I was able to call many of the twists from the beginning. I would definitely link this back to the point I made before about some parts mirroring a Wattpad fanfic, as many of the plot-twists are quite overused cliched ones that you now really only see in badly written Wattpad stories, and even those are rare because the standard on Wattpad is so high now compared to when I first started it five years ago.  This was all very frustrating for me, I literally considered throwing my phone at the wall at one point lol.

Overall this book was okay, I would still recommend it for the main reason that we are all different and there may be someone out there that loves it and thinks I am absolutely crazy in this review. However, it was a definite one time read for me 🙂

Rating: 3*

Leave a Reply

