Everything, Everything Book Review

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

18692431

320 pages

Published 1st September 2015

Delacorte Press

Book Summary:

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

Goodreads Link

Book Review:

Everything, Everything is an amazing and riveting read that will have you hooked from the very beginning. Note to readers: Do not start this book if you know you do not have the intention to finish it straight away, this book is too great for such tardiness.

I received this as an ARC on behalf of Netgalley and the publishing house, I was so happy when I got approved as I was not expecting it AT ALL so thank you guys.

Maddy is a remarkable teenage girl with an even more remarkable disease that means she can never leave her house. She loves her mum and her in house nurse Carla, she understands all that they do for her and only wishes she could pay them back for everything they have done. Maddy has grown up in her house, but she is content… That is until Olly and his family move in next door and the course of her is changed forever.

“I decide then that love is a terrible, terrible thing. Loving someone as fiercely as my mom loves me must be like wearing your heart outside of your body with no skin, no bones, no nothing to protect it”

I loved the flow of writing throughout the book and the development of Maddy’s character was incredible. The quirky writing style made it even more enjoyable for me.

In regards to character development, I loved Maddy. She was strong, funny and independent… she wasn’t the type of protagonist that let her illness consume her instead she made peace with her disease and appreciated her life for what is. Although that peace is slightly disturbed when Olly comes into her life, it doesn’t matter because Olly begins to make her see the beauty of the world.

Furthermore, Olly was a well written character that portrayed strength, good will and passion… what I loved about Olly was that he didn’t see Maddy as the girl with an illness, he just saw her for who she was and I found that to be extremely admirable.

The twist that occurs in the story was actually one that I considered but as a joke, in the sense that I would be reading and would start thinking “Imagine if this happened?” I never actually for a second considered that it might actually happen. Although, it did give me a sense of glee when my potential theory turned out to be true… maybe my years of binge watching crime shows are finally proving to be good use.

Yoon delivers a powerful and evoking debut with Everything, Everything. This is a book that you will fall in love with pretty quickly, through her use of strong imagery, quirky writing  and strong characters.

I would recommend this book to anyone with a passion for YA contemporary and a flair for well written stories.

Rating: 5* (Roll on the sequel)

2 thoughts on “Everything, Everything Book Review

Leave a Reply

