National Anti-Bullying Week

tumblr_n7a3qlsgka1rzgy8no1_500

So this week (16th November-20th November) is national anti-bullying week, children around the UK will likely be receiving sessions from their teachers about the implications of bullying, they may even hear from speakers who want to spread the message. But, can any of these things measure up to what it is really like to be bullied?

A bully is blustering, quarrelsome, overbearing person who habitually badgers and intimidatessmaller or weaker people. (definition as provided by Dictionary.com) However, the form of bullying can occur in many ways, these may vary from: cyber, emotional, physical and covert bullying. Being a victim of bullying can often be one of the hardest things to go through, it in many ways destroys a part of you, that you can never get back… take it from me who has suffered at the hands of bullies and never felt like I truly recovered.

During my earlier high school years, I dealt with a lot of bullying, much of it involved the criticism of my appearance and led to me being severely ill after taking drastic measures to become someone different. It’s funny because a lot of the time when I would go through this stuff, I wouldn’t tell anyone because it had got to a point where I felt like I deserved the stack of cards I was being dealt. Moreover, I spent much of the time hating my own reflection that I never really understood the complexity of these horrible people. Bullies seek to hurt you because it is easier than them admitting their flaws, they hurt you because their insecurities seem better on the back of someone else.

Recent years have seen so many teenagers commit suicide because of bullying. Take, for example, Amanda Todd who hanged herself after being a victim of severe school and cyber bullying. Before her suicide, Amanda uploaded a youtube video detailing all that she had been through, in hope that it could change someone’s else life. She was a hero.

But, why is it that people only listen to you once the worst case scenario happens. What is it about society that have made them so desensitised to other people’s feelings? We may never know, but word of advice… If you ever see someone being bullied, don’t take a backseat. You may just be the person that could change their life.

2 thoughts on “National Anti-Bullying Week

  1. Chloe Lauren says:

    I love this post! It outlines the thoughts and feelings of many people. Sometimes, I don’t think people realise how their words have power and can really hurt people’s feelings, whether they wanted to or not. I had quite a few years of bullying, so I really see where you are coming from with this 🙂

    Like

    • Savi says:

      Thank you so much 💕 one of the main aims I had when writing this was that I really wanted to try and capture the voice of a victim, being one myself made it slightly easier but I am really happy you liked it 😙😙 also, promise me that you won’t allow anyone to get you down because bullies are the kind of people that only seek to tear you down.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

