Blog Tour: Dumplin Book Review and Top Ten Quotes

Hey Guys, this is a very special post today as I am a part of the Dumplin Blog Tour which means that I get to not only post a book review, but also my top ten quotes of the book. So, let’s get started shall we?!

Summary:

Self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson (dubbed “Dumplin’” by her former beauty queen mom) has always been at home in her own skin. Her thoughts on having the ultimate bikini body? Put a bikini on your body. With her all-American beauty best friend, Ellen, by her side, things have always worked…until Will takes a job at Harpy’s, the local fast-food joint. There she meets Private School Bo, a hot former jock. Will isn’t surprised to find herself attracted to Bo. But she is surprised when he seems to like her back.

Instead of finding new heights of self-assurance in her relationship with Bo, Will starts to doubt herself. So she sets out to take back her confidence by doing the most horrifying thing she can imagine: entering the Miss Clover City beauty pageant—along with several other unlikely candidates—to show the world that she deserves to be up there as much as any twiggy girl does. Along the way, she’ll shock the hell out of Clover City—and maybe herself most of all.

Goodreads Link

Review:

Smart, funny, confident and a downright bad-ass. Willowdean is a refreshing character that makes you smile with each page. Dumplin was a book that I have been looking forward to for ages, and I can definitely see myself reading it repeatedly.

One of the things that I loved most about Willowdean was how real she was. She is often seen as being the girl with the biggest insecurities but covering up her feelings with a smile and confidence. Willow has a lot of moments where she is conscious of her body and how it may be perceived by others, specifically a boy. But that is all I will say on that matter as I don’t want to give too much away.

Furthermore, Willow’s relationship with her friend Ellen is so realistic. I mean come on what kind of friendship doesn’t involve tiffs along the way? It was nice to see friends that were relatable rather than that sickly, ‘we never argue’ friendship… so kudos to Julie for that.

The character development was good but at times contradictory because Willow prided herself on being the girl who empowered others, yet frequently criticised other girl’s body appearance. Maybe, that was her insecurities talking rather than Willow but I found that to bring down what is a pretty amazing book.

However, this book had so many great qualities like friendship, self-love, happiness and so much more. Without a doubt, I would recommend this book to anyone that wants an uplifting read this month. Rating: 3.5*

Top Ten Quotes:

  1. “I’ve wasted a lot of time in my life. I’ve thought too much about what people will say or what they’re gonna think. And sometimes it’s over silly things like going to the grocery store or going to the post office. But there have been times when I really stopped myself from doing something special. All because I was scared someone might look at me and decide I wasn’t good enough. But you don’t have to bother with that nonsense. I wasted all that time so you don’t have to.”
  2. “Perfection is nothing more than a phantom shadow we’re all chasing”
  3. “I don’t get why we call it a crush when it feels more like a curse.
  4. Then there are days when I really give zero flying fucks, and I am totally satisfied with this body of mine. How can I be both of those people at once? ~
  5. Sometimes figuring out who you are means understanding that we are a mosaic of experiences. I’m Dumplin’. And Will and Willowdean. I’m fat. I’m happy. I’m insecure. I’m bold.
  6. I’m not doing this to be some kind of Joan of Fat Girls or whatever. I’m doing this for Lucy. And for me. I’m ready to go back to being the version of myself I was before Bo. I’m entering this pageant because there’s no reason I shouldn’t. I’m doing this because I want to cross the line between me and the rest of the world. Not be someone’s savior.
  7. It’s selfish and it’s wrong, I know. But I’m not perfect and neither is she. When you love someone enough, you accept their flaws. You make sacrifices to keep them sane. I need her to keep me sane. I need her to sacrifice this for me. ~
  8. ..good friendships are durable. They’re meant to survive the gaps and growing pains.
  9. “There’s something about swimsuits that make you think you’ve got to earn the right to wear them. And that’s wrong. Really, the criteria is simple. Do you have a body? Put a swimsuit on it”
  10. “There’s some kind of peace that comes with knowing that for every person who is waiting to be found, there’s someone out there searching.”
4 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Dumplin Book Review and Top Ten Quotes

    • Savi says:

      Thank you 🙂 yeah I can see why the book gets mixed reviews, although I quite liked it. It does have its downfalls but I would still say to give it a go because you never know… you may really like it

      Like

Leave a Reply

